Author Topic: Maximum number of pixels  (Read 4545 times)

Ben Buse

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
Maximum number of pixels
« on: February 08, 2016, 02:00:55 AM »
Hi,

End of last week we had a student running large high resolution maps requiring large number of pixels.

When we tried 2048x2048 the maximum allowed in PI menu the software crashed has anyone else seen this?

Then I tried a series of different sizes this morning - for a single map

512x1024 worked
1024x1024 worked
1024x1256 worked
1024x1408 crash
1024x1536 crash
1024x1800 crash
1024x2000 crash
1024x2048 crash

Thanks

Ben

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3293
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Maximum number of pixels
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2016, 07:00:14 AM »
Hi,

End of last week we had a student running large high resolution maps requiring large number of pixels.

When we tried 2048x2048 the maximum allowed in PI menu the software crashed has anyone else seen this?

Then I tried a series of different sizes this morning - for a single map

512x1024 worked
1024x1024 worked
1024x1256 worked
1024x1408 crash
1024x1536 crash
1024x1800 crash
1024x2000 crash
1024x2048 crash

Thanks

Ben

Hi Ben,
When you say "crashed" do you mean that you got an error returned from the instrument?   I try to reserve the word "crash" for when a software terminates unexpectedly- as in a car hitting a tree.   ;)

We should be able to do exactly what the JEOL mapping software can do (we're using the same macro calls!).  It might be that Brian is allowing you to specify maps in Probe Image that are too large for the JEOL firmware and if that is the case, we need to trap that.

Please run the same exact test using the JEOL software and let us know what you find.  Please note that for your test you'll need to run not only the same map sizes, but also the same number of maps, as the limitation is the total map memory capacity in the JEOL firmware.

On the Cameca this limit is difficult to difficult to ascertain as it depends on the firmware revision!  This may also be the case on JEOL instruments as well.
john
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 08:20:32 AM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Ben Buse

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
Re: Maximum number of pixels
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2016, 08:47:49 AM »
Sorry, yes I mean the software (Probe Image) crashed - it stopped unexpectedly - or whatever the default windows message says. It runs fine through the Jeol software.

I should add that Probe Image seems to run the first line and at the end of the first line when its saving the data?? it crashes. The instrument carries on running the map.

Thanks

Ben
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 08:53:50 AM by Ben Buse »

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3293
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Maximum number of pixels
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2016, 10:50:47 AM »
Sorry, yes I mean the software (Probe Image) crashed - it stopped unexpectedly - or whatever the default windows message says. It runs fine through the Jeol software.

I should add that Probe Image seems to run the first line and at the end of the first line when its saving the data?? it crashes. The instrument carries on running the map.

Thanks

Ben

Hi Ben,
Yes, the software gets data at the end of each scan line.   I think we will need a log capture from you to resolve this so I will contact you off-line.  I wonder if this is another instrument firmware update issue that we need to deal with...

Edit by John: By the way, I'm still not sure what you mean by "crash".  Did the acquisition stop, the program return an error message, but Probe Image was still running afterwards?  Or did the acquisition stop, the program return an error message and then Probe Image disappeared from the screen (that is, the program actually terminated itself)?  The former is an error, the latter situation is what I call a crash... in either case we'll fix it!
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 10:11:50 PM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Ben Buse

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
Re: Maximum number of pixels
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2016, 11:30:46 PM »
Hi John,

If I get a chance I'll grab a screenshot. But what is happening is

(1) Start map in PI
(2) Runs first line
(3) PI hangs - with windows message - not responding I think. The instrument carries on mapping and must be stopped through the Jeol software.

I'll also get you the log data

Thanks

Ben
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 11:36:19 PM by Ben Buse »

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 3293
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Maximum number of pixels
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2016, 11:37:59 PM »
Hi John,

If I get a chance I'll grab a screenshot. But what is happening is

(1) Start map in PI
(2) Runs first line
(3) PI hangs - with windows message - not responding I think. The instrument carries on mapping

I'll also get you the log data

Thanks

Ben

Hi Ben,
Awesome!

Odd that it only occurs with really large x-ray maps...  no worries, Brian will fix it!  :-[
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"