Author Topic: LaB6 on SX100  (Read 5761 times)

Philipp Poeml

• Professor
LaB6 on SX100
« on: February 12, 2016, 10:00:42 AM »
Dear all,

Is anyone of you using a LaB6 cathode on a SX100? Or does anyone know someone and get me in touch? I would like to try this adventure. I just mounted it and I am playing around with it. But I am lacking experience in what emission current to use and what lifetime to expect. And I would prefer to run it slightly undersaturated.

There is a way from Cameca to calculate the heat value for 1800 K cathode temperature. They also say, to drop the temperature by 100 K one would need to lower the heat by about 20.

So, as I have no experience with LaB6 whatsoever, I would be grateful for any comment.

Cheers
Philipp

Mike Jercinovic

• Professor
    • UMass Geosciences Microprobe-SEM Facility
Re: LaB6 on SX100
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2016, 01:33:07 PM »
Hi Philipp