Author Topic: Armstrong absorption correction  (Read 8135 times)

Brian Joy

• Professor
Armstrong absorption correction
« on: January 20, 2016, 07:34:23 AM »
Hi John,

Looking for some guidance...

I’ve written a matrix correction program (in Fortran 90/95) so that I can re-process output from the JEOL PC-EPMA software, as I don’t necessarily like the options offered by JEOL.  Where possible, I’ve been testing output from my program against output from CalcZAF.

For the PAP, XPP, and FRAME-ZAF models, I can duplicate f(chi) calculated by CalcZAF precisely for X-rays in both pure elements and mixtures.  However, I’m having problems doing the same using the Armstrong absorption model.  I’ve attempted to locate the source(s) of the discrepancy by combing through the code that you’ve posted on-line, primarily in the file ZAF.bas.  However, I have no substantive knowledge of Visual Basic syntax or program structure, and so I’ve had some difficulty following equations through the code; for instance, I can’t seem to find exactly where the integrals of phi(rho*z) and phi(rho*z)*(-chi)*rho*z are evaluated.  Could you point me in the right direction?

When I calculate f(chi) for K lines of pure elements using the Armstrong absorption model, I get exactly the same output as generated by CalcZAF.  However, for K lines of elements in mixtures, my f(chi) results differ from the CalcZAF output (example below).  In addition, when I calculate f(chi) for M lines of pure elements, my output always differs at least slightly from the CalcZAF output.  For instance, for W Ma in pure W, I get f(chi) = 0.6798, while CalcZAF gives 0.6727 (accelerating potential = 15 kV, takeoff angle = 40 degrees, MAC database = MAC30).  For Ce Ma in pure Ce, I get f(chi) = 0.5158, while CalcZAF gives 0.4969.  For L lines of pure elements, I get f(chi) that differs by no more than 0.0001 from CalcZAF output.