Author Topic: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7  (Read 41857 times)

Philipp Poeml

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.6
« Reply #135 on: September 26, 2019, 09:57:01 am »
By necessity the Disable Quant flag only applies to the calculation of elements in unknowns, not in standards.

Think of it this way: even if an element is disabled for quantification in an unknown, you'd still want that element utilized in the std k-factor calculation, if it is present in that standard composition.

True.

But it wouldn't be duplicate anymore.
But ok, if it does not affect calculation speed or anything, I guess it does not matter.

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2439
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.6
« Reply #136 on: September 26, 2019, 10:03:52 am »
By necessity the Disable Quant flag only applies to the calculation of elements in unknowns, not in standards.

Think of it this way: even if an element is disabled for quantification in an unknown, you'd still want that element utilized in the std k-factor calculation, if it is present in that standard composition.

True.

But it wouldn't be duplicate anymore.
But ok, if it does not affect calculation speed or anything, I guess it does not matter.

The std k-factor code knows nothing about disable quant flags.  But yes, it doesn't affect the speed much so it really doesn't matter.
john

Edit by John: OK, I now notice that the disable quant flags are checked in the code for the std k-factor calculation, but it still has to calculate std k-factor for each (not quant disabled) emitting line, with all the other elements not duplicated and present as specified concentrations.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2019, 11:27:23 am by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2439
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7
« Reply #137 on: October 09, 2019, 06:02:04 pm »
Probeman recently said to us that he wanted to be able to disable/enable individual data points based on their EDS spectra.

It might be because the EDS deadtime was over 90% and the EDS spectra were no longer suitable for quantification, but it also might be that in examining the EDS spectra, it is determined to be necessary to exclude certain data points that are not the phase of interest. For whatever reason.

So we added a disable and an enable button in the Run | Display and Export EDS spectra menu dialog as seen here:



Maybe others will find it useful.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Malcolm Roberts

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 131
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7
« Reply #138 on: October 17, 2019, 07:23:21 pm »
John
I'm having a particular problem that I cannot track easily. I have a win10 machine connected to the new 8530F+ and another for off-line data processing. I am currently having to process the data on line rather than the work station as when I attempt to open the .mdb files acquired on-line with the off line computer I get an error that the database is not is not compatible. It then rolls back and closes. This sounds like some annoying windows type behavior. Anyone seen this already and what should I do about it?? I have 12.7.7 on remote and the previous version on-line. But don't think that this should be an issue after all, I have always opened the .mdb in PfEPMA anyway.
Cheers
Malc

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2439
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7
« Reply #139 on: October 17, 2019, 08:13:06 pm »
Hi Malcolm,
Is this the problem you are having?

https://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=105.msg8095#msg8095

Microsoft broke their Access database support last year, but it seems to have been fixed. Is this computer not able to get Windows updates?
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Malcolm Roberts

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 131
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7
« Reply #140 on: October 17, 2019, 08:41:43 pm »
Hi John
That's the beast. As for updates, it can but I tend not to let it because these are in the hands of UWA IT "Gods" and we cannot foresake control over things things known to be less about our interests.
Cheers
Malc

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2439
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7
« Reply #141 on: October 17, 2019, 10:20:48 pm »
Always apply OS updates!

For on-line computers one should select the option to "download updates but let me decide when to install them".  So Windows Update doesn't re-boot your computer in the middle of a run!

For off-line computers just let them install automatically. It's important.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Mike Matthews

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 110
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7
« Reply #142 on: October 18, 2019, 06:30:58 am »
I’ve been getting a similar behaviour (but for a different reason I think). When opening a PfE database file over a network connection I sometimes get a ‘database already open locked for access’ error message. Copying the database file to the desktop solves the problem so I suspect it’s something to do with the slightly slower connection over the network causing a false error. Took me a while to work out that the database files weren’t getting randomly corrupted.

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2439
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.7.7
« Reply #143 on: October 18, 2019, 08:32:31 am »
Hi Mike,
Yeah, that's a different thing.

PFE locks the database when ever it performs a "transaction". That is updating the database.  This is to prevent any possibility of data corruption.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transaction_processing

You might notice a .LDB file at times in the folder. That is Microsoft's file locking mechanism, but it doesn't work fast enough over a network connection, so yes, copy the database to a local drive and all is well.
john
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"