Author Topic: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.7  (Read 82267 times)

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.9.9
« Reply #165 on: November 13, 2021, 04:09:42 PM »
This is a small change that only affects Probe for EPMA when running in simulation (demo) mode. And then only for the current session.

Because the polygonization modeling is slightly time consuming, we have added the following dialog when starting a (demo) WDS simulation in Probe for EPMA:



These WDS polygonization effects are described in more detail here:

https://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=79.msg7818#msg7818
« Last Edit: November 13, 2021, 04:12:34 PM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.0.3
« Reply #166 on: December 09, 2021, 08:26:02 AM »
We added two new keywords to the probewin.ini file for the [Image] section in v. 13.0.3:

ImageSizeIndex=2
Sets the default image size index for image acquisition. Valid values are 1 = 256, 2 = 512, 3 = 1024.

ImageChannelNumber=1
Sets the default image channel number. Valid values are 1 or 2.

Update Probe for EPMA from the Help | Update Probe for EPMA menu and edit these parameters as desired.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2021, 08:47:49 AM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Anette von der Handt

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *****
  • Posts: 294
    • UMN Probelab
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.9.8
« Reply #167 on: December 10, 2021, 01:59:39 PM »
Hi John,

I can define a material type in the standard database but can I define more than one for example "glass" and "REE"? Neither ";" or "," seems to work as a divider. If this is not yet possible, could that be implemented?

Thanks!
Anette
Against the dark, a tall white fountain played.

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 12.9.8
« Reply #168 on: December 10, 2021, 03:42:37 PM »
I can define a material type in the standard database but can I define more than one for example "glass" and "REE"? Neither ";" or "," seems to work as a divider. If this is not yet possible, could that be implemented?

Only one material per standard at this time...
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.0.4
« Reply #169 on: December 14, 2021, 08:59:55 AM »
I can define a material type in the standard database but can I define more than one for example "glass" and "REE"? Neither ";" or "," seems to work as a divider. If this is not yet possible, could that be implemented?

So I looked at the code and the intention of the define standard material, and the define standard mount fields are treated differently.

In the case of the define standard mount, the same standard can be in more than one mount.  So the program expects you to enter the mount name and when it finds a match it only displays the standards in that mount.

The standard material is different. It display all the different standard materials that have been defined by the user and the user checks one or more of the checkboxes to display only those materials.

But one can edit these materials in the Standard application with multiple definitions, for example here, the thorium silicate is defined as both a silicate and an actinide:



And in Probe for EPMA from the Add/Remove Standards dialog one can check this checkbox to see materials that are silicates *and* actinides:



Of course one can also check both the silicate and silicate, actinide checkboxes and then one will see all silicates and also silicates that are oxides:



That's the best we can do I think.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Anette von der Handt

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *****
  • Posts: 294
    • UMN Probelab
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.0.4
« Reply #170 on: December 14, 2021, 02:39:53 PM »
John,

Thanks for the explanation. Indeed, this is a good way to set it up and use the dialog (select multiple boxes). I cleaned up my standard database and it is working well for my purposes.
Against the dark, a tall white fountain played.

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.0.5
« Reply #171 on: December 24, 2021, 08:54:18 AM »
Not sure if this will help anyone else, but one of our customers (LANL) had the x-axis on their JEOL 8200 fail. The problem being that if either the JEOL software or our software sends a move command to any stage axis, the instrument locks up and has to be re-booted. And though they've scheduled a service visit with JEOL, in the meantime they wanted to be able to continue to perform WDS analyses using the stage manually.

So we added a new keyword to the probewin.ini file for the [Hardware] section in v. 13.0.5 for them:

DisableStageMoveAll=0
If this value is set to a non-zero number all calls to the stage are ignored.

If this keyword might ever be useful for you in similar circumstances, just update Probe for EPMA from the Help | Update Probe for EPMA menu and edit this parameter as desired.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2022, 12:25:19 PM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.0.9
« Reply #172 on: February 07, 2022, 10:02:38 AM »
Just a small thing that should be useful when automating Probe Image from the Probe for EPMA Automate! window...

We now parse the user specified Probe Image .PrbAcq mapping acquisition file for the pixel sizes and dwell times to obtain the total mapping acquisition time for Probe Image when it is automated through Probe for EPMA as shown here:



This should make it easier to estimate the total acquisition time for standards, unknowns, wavescans and x-ray mapping.

As usual simply update Probe for EPMA from the Help menu.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.1
« Reply #173 on: March 02, 2022, 08:47:08 AM »
This is a very small "tweak" to the software but some of you might find it useful...

The other day when Probeman was running some PHA tests at different count rates by de-tuning the spectrometer position:

https://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=1437.msg10595#msg10595

We realized that we should probably record the current spectrometer position during PHA scan acquisitions. So this feature is now in the latest Probe for EPMA v. 13.1.1 as seen here:



And here is the PHA scan with the spectrometer position de-tuned slightly:



It should be noted however, that to prevent the software from automatically moving the spectrometer on-peak, one must first check the "Do Not Move Spectrometer On-Peak Before Scan" checkbox as shown here:

« Last Edit: March 02, 2022, 09:03:30 AM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.2
« Reply #174 on: April 07, 2022, 12:20:16 PM »
This is a little hard to explain, but for JEOL 8230/8530 users who are utilizing the JEOL EDS video interface in PFE for analog signal imaging, it might be worth reading through...

So there is a bug in the JEOL EDS video imaging functions where the slow scan image is *not* returned when the video image acquisition is acquired.  Instead, the initial "pre-scan" just before the slow scan acquisition is the image that is actually returned.  We have reported this bug to JEOL Japan, but given that they have developed a new EDS imaging interface on their new instruments, they may or may not fix this bug on the older instruments.

So to obtain higher quality analog signal images in Probe for EPMA with this JEOL EDS Video imaging interface, you should instead, slow down the scan on the JEOL PC-SEM software, and then utilize the new Scan Delay button seen here:



in order to prevent the slow scan from starting before the "pre-scan" finishes so that a full image frame is acquired.  Hope this makes sense!

This button is only visible for JEOL 8230/8530 instruments, who are utilizjng the JEOL EDS video imaging interface!
« Last Edit: April 07, 2022, 12:24:41 PM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.2
« Reply #175 on: April 26, 2022, 06:52:46 PM »
The latest version of Probe for EPMA contains a number of updates, including a greeting for Dale Newbury's birthday next month (thanks to Heather Lowers).

So be sure to update PFE from the Help menu as usual, and feel free to wish him a happy birthday!
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.2
« Reply #176 on: May 04, 2022, 12:00:14 PM »
The latest version of Probe for EPMA now contains an output format for the consensus k-ratio project.

The new format is a flat file format consisting of a tab delimited ASCII file, or optional Excel spreadsheet with one line per element as seen in the attached Excel spreadsheet. This output format can be accessed from the Output menu or from the Analyze! window in  Probe for EPMA by right clicking selected samples as shown here:



This format has been reviewed and approved by Nicholas Ritchie but could be modified if anyone has further suggestions. Here's a screen shot of the output:



The advantage is that it is easily machine readable/searchable and no manual data entry is necessary. 
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.2
« Reply #177 on: May 09, 2022, 10:16:36 AM »
The latest version of Probe for EPMA now includes a right click menu in the Analyze! window to output data for import into Andrew Locock's garnet and amphibole mineral recalculation spreadsheets:


 
The new code also copies either Andrew's garnet or amphibole spreadsheet to your user folder. Just to make things even easier!   8)

Please update PFE from your Help menu and try it out and let us know if anything in the output format (or output file naming) needs to be tweaked.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.2
« Reply #178 on: May 11, 2022, 09:24:41 AM »
The latest version of Probe for EPMA implements Andrew Locock's amphibole recalculation code for the purposes of determining ferrous and ferric iron. Thanks to Andrew and Aurelien Moy who worked with us on this quite complicated code.

This expanded feature is found in the Analyze! window Calculation Options button dialog as seen here:



Remember, for in depth evaluation of your amphibole mineralogy, one should instead utilize the Locock spreadsheet output format (seen in the previous post) and utilize Andrew's recalculation spreadsheets externally to PFE.

But for the purposes of ferrous/ferric ratios these generic options seem to work well.  In case any one is interested in how we set Andrew's spreadsheet flags, we decided upon the following code:

Code: [Select]
' Sodic amphibole
If Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 1 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 1

' Calcic amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 2 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0

' Na-Ca amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 3 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 1

' Fe-Mg-Mn amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 4 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0

' Oxo amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 5 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0

' Li amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 6 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0
End If

Please let us know if you have any questions.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Latest version changes for Probe for EPMA (and CalcImage) v. 13.1.2
« Reply #179 on: May 13, 2022, 08:49:00 AM »
The latest version of Probe for EPMA implements Andrew Locock's amphibole recalculation code for the purposes of determining ferrous and ferric iron. Thanks to Andrew and Aurelien Moy who worked with us on this quite complicated code.

This expanded feature is found in the Analyze! window Calculation Options button dialog as seen here:



Remember, for in depth evaluation of your amphibole mineralogy, one should instead utilize the Locock spreadsheet output format (seen in the previous post) and utilize Andrew's recalculation spreadsheets externally to PFE.

But for the purposes of ferrous/ferric ratios these generic options seem to work well.  In case any one is interested in how we set Andrew's spreadsheet flags, we decided upon the following code:

Code: [Select]
' Sodic amphibole
If Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 1 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 1

' Calcic amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 2 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0

' Na-Ca amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 3 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 1

' Fe-Mg-Mn amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 4 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0

' Oxo amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 5 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0

' Li amphibole
ElseIf Droop_option_for_amphibole% = 6 Then
ORTHORHOMBIC% = 0
USE_INITIAL_M3_OVER_SUM_M% = 0
If tipresent Then ESTIMATEOH2_2TI% = 1
If waterspecified Then REQUIRE_INITIAL_H2O% = 1

REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_CA_LE_15% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_MG_GE_13% = 0
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_NA_GE_15% = 1
REQUIRE_SUM_SI_TO_K_GE_15_5% = 0
End If

Please let us know if you have any questions.

In case any one is wondering how we decided on the amphibole recalculation flags for Andrew's code, see the attached documents from Andrew below showing the results of Andrew's investigations into which flags would be most appropriate for each amphibole type.

Again, if one prefers to set these amphibole flags manually, please utlize the Locock amphibole spreadsheet output menu by right clicking the sample(s) in the Analyze! window sample list.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"