Author Topic: Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters  (Read 22122 times)

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters
« on: August 01, 2013, 11:48:31 AM »
Getting the proper configuration settings for reading and setting the beam current on JEOL instruments can be a little work.

If you want to more easily and quickly test the proper INI configuration file settings for setting and getting reliable faraday cup beam current reads, you might consider using the little Faraday.exe utility. It has the complete faraday cup capabilities, including the Calibrate Set Beam Current button in the Analytical Conditions menu.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2013, 09:14:07 AM »
Here is a post on making sure your JEOL faraday cup reads the beam current reliably:

http://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=80.0
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Malcolm Roberts

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
Re: Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2014, 11:57:44 PM »
Has anyone noticed this? During automated analyses, the software is recording beam currents less than that set and this is giving very high totals. This effect is random affecting ca 1 in every 15 or 20 analyses overall but has baffled me. I thought that the I was supposed to be read from the PCD at the end of each analysis. Adjacent readings show very consistent values. Now, if I make a copy of the MS access database used for that  run, go in and change the current value, hey presto...nice analysis.
Any idea on why this might be happening and how I can fix it without "fiddling data"?
Cheers,
malc.

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2014, 09:29:11 AM »
Yes, don't "fiddle" the data!    ;)

Seriously, the solution to your problem is in this Probe for EPMA board topic...  (even though it is a JEOL specific issue!)

http://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=80.0
« Last Edit: February 13, 2014, 09:38:52 AM by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Malcolm Roberts

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
Re: Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2014, 04:00:44 PM »
Hi John
I thought it would be as simple as that. I will go and check the parameters and tweak as needed. I had another thought for this and that was to change the sequence of processes to something like counting stops, PCD in, park spectros, measure I, commence new sample. That might give sufficient wait to even out the PCD measuring problem?
Cheers,
Malc.

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2014, 04:13:48 PM »
I thought it would be as simple as that. I will go and check the parameters and tweak as needed.

Hi Malc.
You might need to increase the FaradayWaitInTime to 2.2 seconds. For some reason JEOL keeps making this darn picoammeter slower with each new model.

I had another thought for this and that was to change the sequence of processes to something like counting stops, PCD in, park spectros, measure I, commence new sample. That might give sufficient wait to even out the PCD measuring problem?

Sorry that will not work, but increasing the FaradayWaitInTime in the [faraday] section of the Probewin.ini file will fix the read current problem.
john
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Malcolm Roberts

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
Helpful tip on adjusting the faraday cup
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2014, 08:51:51 PM »
This thread has disappeared for some reason. Recall the problem with low beam I being recorded during automated acquisition on a JEOL 8530F? Suggestion was to change the waitonfaraday = 2 to 2.2. I have now increased this to 2.3 as the system is still recording values less than the beam current set for the analyses. Eventually I hope to arrive at a value that works!!

Edit by John: Try doing manual beam current acquisitions using the Faraday app. Try a beam measurement both with the cup in and with the cup out and increase the Probewin.ini FaradayWaitInTime until they are within precision- remember to restart Faraday each time you edit the INI file.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2014, 09:49:08 PM by John Donovan »

Malcolm Roberts

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 133
Re: Helpful tip for adjusting the faraday cup parameters
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2014, 05:38:26 PM »
Thanks John,
Yesterday I increased the wait on time to 2.3. I have only I spurious reading right at the end. I have now increased it to 2.5 and will see how things go today.
Meanwhile...... the Z matter...remember the issue to do with returning the correct Z values on stage movement I mentioned the other day? I have scanned through probewin.ini then motors.dat. In the latter, I see a Z backlash specified as -0.002 and a JEOL backlash of 5000 for Z. Checking focus on the last acquired sample this morning shows a discrepancy or ca 5 microns. It has been a little greater - up to 15 - I wondered whether fine tuning either of these two values might help, but which? Should I reduce the JEOL backlash to 2000? Questions...questions.......