Author Topic: System maintenance/fix-it tips and tricks  (Read 2568 times)

DavidAdams

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 45
Re: System maintenance/fix-it tips and tricks
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2021, 02:09:59 PM »
I think it is related to the JEOL software version installed. The newer of the 8530s at UWA in Perth also has that window locked in position (but as far as I know it is fully visible), and I think at Melbourne Uni the window became locked when their JEOL software was updated. On our system (installed March 2017) we still have the movable window.

Weird.  I'm running version 17 which is the exact same version that I was running in Denver and the behaviour between the two installations is different. I did notice this morning that in the JEOL service engineer only software that there is a "reset window position" button that moves things around on the screens but I don't have the password for that program
David Adams
The University of Auckland
Faculty of Science | School of Environment

Anette von der Handt

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
    • UMN Probelab
Re: System maintenance/fix-it tips and tricks
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2021, 08:49:11 AM »
Hi, I have that problem too and in my opinion, it is just related to the display resolution (and poor programming).

If I run the display resolution at 1920x1080 I have the problem that PC-EPMA is unmoveable (Monitor is 4K, but the lower resolution displays the PC-SEM/EPMA windows nice and large). If I choose a higher display resolution, I can move PC-EPMA just fine as both windows are displayed smaller.

I think the default position of PC-EPMA is just a little too high so that it cuts off the window title bar. Not sure if that is something that can be defined in Windows/JEOL.

Try if a different display resolution helps in this respect.
Against the dark, a tall white fountain played.

Karsten Goemann

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *****
  • Posts: 210
Re: System maintenance/fix-it tips and tricks
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2021, 06:49:49 PM »
We have 1920x1080 on our monitor and the window is not fixed. I actually swap the PC-SEM and -EPMA window positions around as that works better for me with our overall screen layout, so having PC-EPMA locked would be quite annoying.

Our PC-EPMA version says 1.13.0.0, PC-SEM 3.0.1.20, not sure how that translates to 17 (overall version number?). The PC-EPMA window seems around 1280x1050 in size under Win7, so even if I can move it it only just fits when using the small setting for the taskbar at the bottom, not with the normal full size taskbar. We're still on Win7 but as far as I remember my colleague from UMelb was saying that their's became unmovable after a JEOL software upgrade, not upgrade to Win10.

If you have a Windows taskbar at the bottom of that screen, does the fixed position of the PC-EPMA window change if you move the taskbar say to the left screen edge or turn it off for that screen?

DavidAdams

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 45
Re: System maintenance/fix-it tips and tricks
« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2021, 04:10:55 PM »
Our PC-EPMA version says 1.13.0.0, PC-SEM 3.0.1.20, not sure how that translates to 17 (overall version number?). The PC-EPMA window seems around 1280x1050 in size under Win7, so even if I can move it it only just fits when using the small setting for the taskbar at the bottom, not with the normal full size taskbar. We're still on Win7 but as far as I remember my colleague from UMelb was saying that their's became unmovable after a JEOL software upgrade, not upgrade to Win10.


The second number in your PC-EPMA version is the "Version" in JEOL speak. So in your case you're running "Version" 13.  I'm not sure why Heather's version 17 allows for the window to be moved and my version 17 is immovable.

Moving the task bar around it is a good test. I'll try that as soon as Sergiy is done in the lab this week.

Hi, I have that problem too and in my opinion, it is just related to the display resolution (and poor programming).

If I run the display resolution at 1920x1080 I have the problem that PC-EPMA is unmoveable (Monitor is 4K, but the lower resolution displays the PC-SEM/EPMA windows nice and large). If I choose a higher display resolution, I can move PC-EPMA just fine as both windows are displayed smaller.


That's really interesting behaviour. I have one 4k screen too and when the PC-EPMA window decides to move to that one after a software reset, changing the resolution doesn't do anything.  The PC-EPMA window just gets larger or smaller but is still locked in the upper left corner of the monitor
David Adams
The University of Auckland
Faculty of Science | School of Environment

Probe321

  • Professor
  • ****
  • Posts: 32
Re: System maintenance/fix-it tips and tricks
« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2021, 09:58:29 AM »
Hi everybody,

This is a question about JEOL software behaviour.

So on the USGS Denver 8530F microprobe I could freely move around both the PC-SEM software window and the PC-EPMA window anywhere I wanted to on any of the screens connected to that computer. On my current setup (an I think some setups at Oz Unis) the PC-SEM Software is freely movable. The PC-EPMA side, however, opens up on a monitor when starting the JEOL software, locks itself into place, and becomes completely immovable. The Title Bar with the Max, Min, and X buttons is completely missing. The only way to get this window to relocate is to close the JEOL software completely, turn off the monitor that the PC-EPMA software decides to open itself on, then restart the software. This has the effect of opening the PC-EPMA software on a different screen but it still is locked and immoveable on the new monitor.

Does anyone have any idea how to get the PC-EPMA title bar back and to allow the window to be moved?

Thanks!
David

Change the resolution on the monitor(s) using the video card software.  The NETL 8530F plus is using an Nvidia video card and to get the display to show the JEOL software correctly resolution has to be set through the Nvidia software. Microsoft Remote Desktop does not allow you to change resolutions. 

For the frozen epma software I suspect you are using Microsoft Remote Desktop.  Try logging off the computer and reconnecting and logging back in.  In my case the EPMA window is now movable.  If the software is up and running and you reconnect the EPMA window is locked to the left side of the screen. Using a VNC program such as VNC connect ($) lets you change monitor resolution and the EPMA window moves. At NETL I remote to a workstation and then use VNC connect viewer to connect to the Microprobe and Probe for EPMA. I have not found anything I cannot adjust when using the VNC connection.