Author Topic: Removing a glass coverslip: can it be done?  (Read 1929 times)

dawncruth

• Professor
Removing a glass coverslip: can it be done?
« on: December 26, 2019, 03:26:03 PM »
Hi all,

A colleague donated their PhD thin sections for some research I'm conducting. Alas, these thin sections were made in the 80s where coverslips were the thing. Although super useful for petrographic work, they are effectively useless for SEM/Probe work. I also have current users (!) who have thin sections with glass slips who might want to do future SEM/Probe work.

Is it possible to remove the glass coverslip without damaging the rock slice too much?

If so, please share your wisdom. I imagine there are thousands of thin sections that could be made more useful if we could solve this problem!

Probeman

• Emeritus
  • Never sleeps...
    • John Donovan
Re: Removing a glass coverslip: can it be done?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2019, 04:13:33 PM »
I'm not an expert on this, but can you tell if the cover glass is mounted with petropoxy (epoxy), or balsam?

If balsam, you could just warm them gently and possibly slide it off.
The only stupid question is the one not asked!

Probeman

• Emeritus
  • Never sleeps...
    • John Donovan
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2019, 11:31:36 AM »
You might be able to tell if it's balsam by trying a tiny drop of acetone or turpentine on an edge. If the adhesive was epoxy then only (boiling) methylene chloride will work and that is very nasty stuff. The problem being if both glue joints are the same adhesive, how do you remove the cover slip and not destroy the thin section itself?

Ideally the rock is glued using epoxy, and the cover slip is attached using balsam.
The only stupid question is the one not asked!

dawncruth

• Professor
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2019, 02:34:16 PM »
I've got to investigate the epoxy vs basalm question.

I've gotten a tip that placing the thin section in the freezer and gently prying off the slip works. 

sem-geologist