Author Topic: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder  (Read 346 times)

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2189
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« on: April 11, 2018, 09:43:49 am »
We finally modified the Remote.msi installer to install the Remote server exe (and help and ini files) to the Common Files folder. This is usually:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Probe Software

We used to install Remote (and Matrix) to the Windows System folder (usually System32 or SysWOW64), but Microsoft has been locking this folder down more with each new OS release. So now the Remote.exe, Remote.chm and Remote.ini files all go into the above Common Files folder.  The only file you need to worry about is the Remote.ini file as that needs to point to where Remote can find the Probe for EPMA app folder for instrument communications. By default the PFE path defined in the Remote.ini file is:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Probe Software\Probe for EPMA

And that is usually where PFE is installed by default on Windows 7 and up (in Windows XP and older 32 bit operating systems it will be C:\Program Files\Probe Software\Probe for EPMA).

This change should mean that when running code that calls our Remote Server interface for custom app development to control your instrument, Windows should no longer get upset.  That is, you should no longer have to change the compatibility properties of the Remote.exe app to "Run as Administrator" or modify the User Access Control (UAC). But a couple of pointers:

1. You should probably uninstall your existing Remote Server installation using the Windows Control Panel before installing the new v. 12.2.7 Remote Server. Note that during the re-install you may get a warning dialog about "Software Classes" during the Remote installation which offers you some Cancel/Retry/Ignore buttons. Just click the Ignore button and all will be OK.  We are trying to understand why we are getting this warning, but it should just be ignored for now!

2. The test app for the Remote Server interface is TestRemote.exe and the executable and all the VB6 source files are installed (as before) in the folder:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Probe Software\Remote

The TestRemote.exe should now run properly "out of the box".

3. But if you want to use Excel to create your Remote macros, I have found several minor issues that you may or may not see depending on your OS and system settings.

First, you should probably want to run your Excel (Matlab, LabView, etc.) macros from another folder other than the program files folder as that is write protected. So copy the test apps and/or Excel files to a folder of your own choosing. Since the Remote Server is now installed to the Common Files folder, your apps and macros should be able to find it automatically (once the reference to it is set properly).

Second, you may need to click the "Enable Content" option (in color at the top of the Excel) to enable macros in Excel.

Third you might need to run Excel "as admin" the first time (or maybe every time depending on your system settings). I had to run Excel using the "Run as Administrator" option by right clicking on Excel.exe in the Microsoft\Office folder, in order to specify the Remote Automation library in the References dialog in Excel.  Look for the Reference labeled Remote Automation Interface as shown here and click the checkbox:



So run Excel "As Administrator", then (for example) open the Excel spreadsheet Deadtime_Acquire.xlsm.   Then access the References dialog from Excel by clicking the Excel View menu, then clicking the Macros icon in the upper right, and then click "Step Into", then click the Tools | References menu.

It sounds complicated but if you're up to writing Excel macros, you should have no problems at all. Here's an recent example written by Ben Vos at the Belgian Nuclear Center to control the beam current on his SX100R using only the emission current (as opposed to the C1/C2 lenses):

http://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=1052.msg6964#msg6964
« Last Edit: April 11, 2018, 01:21:01 pm by John Donovan »
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Gseward

  • Global Moderator
  • Professor
  • *****
  • Posts: 112
Re: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 09:49:24 am »
If you try to run the example macro in Deadtime_Acquire.xls and get an error regarding not being able to create Objects:

then Remote.exe in the path

 C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Probe Software

probably needs to be set to run as admin (the first time it runs).

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2189
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2018, 11:33:19 am »
As posted recently in the Matrix COM server board, we also added a quick instructions dialog to the latest (v. 12.2.8 ) TestRemote.exe application as seen here:



Again, as a reminder, the Remote COM server interface allows one to develop customs applications using Visual Basic or VBA macros from any OLE container such as Excel, Matlab and LabView, etc. for data and image acquisition from their JEOL or Cameca EPMA instrument.

Here is a screen shot of the TestRemote application which is installed (with complete source code) by the Remote.msi installer:



As is the case for the Matrix COM sever, because the Remote COM server registers itself automatically on startup, depending on one's OS and system settings, one may need to run the TestRemote application using the "Run as Administrator" menu by right clicking the TestRemote.exe application in the Remote application folder (usually C:\Program Files (x86)\Probe Software\Remote), the first time it is installed.
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Probe321

  • Graduate
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Re: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2018, 08:54:35 am »
Updating remote per directions uninstalled remote and installed the remote update and got "Windows installer cannot be accessed" this is on a Windows 10 laptop (32 bit), but also getting the same error on window 7 PFE connected to JEOL 8530F+.  So far the only way I have found is to recover from a restore point.  Tried all fixes suggested by Microsoft (attached) which did not work on probe. Reluctent to do a system restore on the probe.

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2189
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2018, 09:06:51 am »
Updating remote per directions uninstalled remote and installed the remote update and got "Windows installer cannot be accessed" this is on a Windows 10 laptop (32 bit), but also getting the same error on window 7 PFE connected to JEOL 8530F+.  So far the only way I have found is to recover from a restore point.  Tried all fixes suggested by Microsoft (attached) which did not work on probe. Reluctent to do a system restore on the probe.

Hi Keith,
I do not claim to understand any of this, but Phil Gopon had the same error a couple of years ago.  Here is the fix he found that worked for him:

http://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=129.msg824#msg824

But in the future, just install using the latest Remote.msi installer (that is, do not uninstall it before running the install).

john
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2189
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2018, 09:11:11 am »
I finally found the post I was looking for on this "Windows installer cannot be accessed" error:

http://probesoftware.com/smf/index.php?topic=642.msg4700#msg4700

Basically, open an administrative command prompt and re-register the msi.dll file as the linked post describes.
john
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"

Probe321

  • Graduate
  • **
  • Posts: 7
Re: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2018, 07:06:17 am »
Did all the things Microsoft suggested to include registering the windows install.  Nothing worked the software error stayed.  Only solution I found is to restore the computer.  I will move the EIKS files to the common folder and try on the PFE computer as see what happens.

Later in the day:  Copied the EIKS files to the C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Probe Software\ then re-installed remote then installed Dell updates and  windows installer is happy and works again.

« Last Edit: April 30, 2018, 09:32:09 am by John Donovan »

John Donovan

  • Administrator
  • Emeritus
  • *****
  • Posts: 2189
  • Other duties as assigned...
    • Probe Software
Re: Remote server now installed to Common Files folder
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2018, 09:34:59 am »
Did all the things Microsoft suggested to include registering the windows install.  Nothing worked the software error stayed.  Only solution I found is to restore the computer.  I will move the EIKS files to the common folder and try on the PFE computer as see what happens.

Later in the day:  Copied the EIKS files to the C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Probe Software\ then re-installed remote then installed Dell updates and  windows installer is happy and works again.

Hi Keith,
Yes, the JEOL EIKS files (only for JEOL 8230/8530 instruments) need to be copied from the Probe for EPMA application folder (usually C:\Program Files (x86)\Probe Software\Probe for EPMA to the common files folder as you mentioned above.

Someday we will implement the native JEOL TCP/IP commands for stage and column and then we won't have to worry about the EIKS interface any more, but for now we have to utilize it.
john
John J. Donovan, Pres. 
(541) 343-3400

"Not Absolutely Certain, Yet Reliable"